Gold shop Suk area

buffalo_bill

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply
any of the Chinatown - type gold shops at Sukhumvit or near . ... Looking for the kind of place where they sell necklaces for the Thai citizen.

Good question.

And I have an auxiliary question to that.

Once you go in to the shop to buy something, how can you tell if they are cheating you, or not?

Are you getting fair weight?

Are you getting honest quality?

Yes, yes, I know about "baht" weight (0.47 oz per baht) and "baht" fineness (variously specified as 965, 990, or 995 depending on where you look on the web).

That's not the question.

The question is: How can the buyer, a "farang", going to a retail gold shop, know if he is getting honest value or getting cheated?

I have no facts on gold shops in particular, but I have lots of first-hand experience with other Chinese-Thai retail businesses here in Bangkok.

When I've been intentionally cheated, or mislead, it's been at Chinese-Thai shops.

Gold shops are all Chinese-Thai owned.

I think significant risk for gold shops here to cheat farang.

Is there any way to reduce that risk?

Maybe not.

Side note:

Politically correct readers here may be tempted to start an inquisition to discover if I am racist?

Let me save you the trouble: I am.

So much so that I don't even trust Caucasians.

Very well Khun zeelo foh ,