Speaking Broken English

gummigut

Been having some discussions with several folks.

Most Thai girls speak broken English but my question is not about the girls.

My question is to the guys. Do you speak broken English to the Thais?

Do you think this is good or bad for the Thais (and you)?

Thanks!

<<burp>>

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Speak simply, clearly and sloooooowwly. As the last poster has stated - and I agree - the person won't otherwise learn anything about English beyond baby talk.

Also, raising the voice will not improve comprehension but may damage the receiver's hearing.

Plan B: Learn Thai.

Plan C: Get pissed - this improves most falangs grasp of Thai I have found. Mine included.

On the other side of the coin, people (especially) who are self-taught in English rarely understand the use of the extraneous words that English has (e.g., articles) so they do not use them. And as a speaker, dropping those words leads to a quicker understanding when dealing with people like that.

But speaking louder only makes one look like an ugly American tourist LOL!

Cheers,

SD

Hi!

Plan C: Get pissed - this improves most falangs grasp of Thai I have found. Mine included.

This should really be plan A as it always works. When I was young we used to say that if one drinks enough one becomes strong handsome and fluent in the French language. I have however noticed that it works with Thai language as well.

regards

ALHOLK

Hi Gummigut,

I speak broken english as it is, I am told :(

But besides from that, it depends on the situation.

I would use every means available to me to get the message through, if I for some reason would have to communicate in english in Thailand.

If that takes "thinglish", so be it.

But if one hangs around someone regularly and regularly speaks pidgin, that certainly won`t do anyone any good.